The Never-ending Washing Machine Saga

This has been one crazy month. I flew over 32,000 miles in 34 days, in 10 flights.

Needless to say, I’m EXHAUSTED.

I’m finally home for more than five minutes, and yet, my washing machine saga continues. When I last left you, the part for my washing machine was on order, and I was hopeful that I could get everything taken care of in between my travels. Despite feeling like total garbage after my first trip (the London-Italy-KL trip), I had to spend about six hours at my parents’ house doing laundry. It’s not as bad as it sounds, because they have a comfortable couch, so I set myself up with my laptop and the tv, and realized I didn’t have nudgy puppies bugging me like at home. So it was actually fairly restful.

But three weeks’ worth of laundry, which included virtually everything I own, meant that things were air drying everywhere. I left it all there late that night, and returned the following day to pick it up. Originally, my mom was supposed to be coming to my house to watch the pups, so I figured that she could be on hand to let the washing machine repairman in, so that everything would be right as rain when I returned from trip #2 to Dallas.

She decided it would be easier to watch them at her house instead, so after packing up the clothes I would need, I also packed up the dogs and all of their stuff and trucked them up to north Jersey. Then, it was off to five days in Dallas. The washing machine part had arrived just before I left.

So when I returned, I pretty much called them immediately to schedule my appointment. I’d gotten back to my house on a Sunday, and called Monday morning, saying that I could do any time in the following three days, even though I really wanted to leave by Wednesday afternoon to head BACK to my parents’ – we were leaving from there on Thursday for Germany.

But of course, they couldn’t fit me in until Wednesday. They said the appointment would be in the morning, but when I got the confirmation call, they said between 2-5. Super.

I knew I had to drop the dogs off that day, by four, and I also had to pick up my dry cleaning, which I’d talked the guy into rushing for me, since I needed it for my trip also. I ended up having to drop the dogs off by 1, just to keep that 2-5 window clear. The repairman arrived about two thirty, I gave him the part, and set about cleaning up my house (when the dogs are away, it’s the perfect time to clean!). The repairman sort of fussed about a bit, and then said he needed to check something in his truck…because he wasn’t sure it was the right part.

Yes, you read that right.

They ordered the WRONG part.

Because the appointment wasn’t until Wednesday, I’d already had to head back to my parents’ AGAIN to do more laundry, and now, he’s telling me that he doesn’t have the right part.

He apologized and said they would rush the part, but I pointed out that with me leaving the country, it wouldn’t exactly do me much good. I was super annoyed because here I was AGAIN with no working washing machine, and a few odds and ends to wash. I ended up going back and forth to my parents’ that afternoon/evening three times, finally leaving and locking the door after 11pm. So, not exactly a restful evening before my trip, plus, I’d missed relaxing the night before and spending some time with my pups before their trip to the kennel.

Annoying.

When I got home yesterday from trip #3, there was a message saying that the part had arrived to them this time – they didn’t even tell me where it was shipping, but at least they should check to make sure it’s the correct one. I called this morning AGAIN (after having to figure out that the number the girl left on my answering machine was one digit wrong) and finally booked another appointment for tomorrow. This darn thing better get fixed or someone is getting my wrath!

On the plus side, I am fully unpacked for a change (yay!) and ready to get back into the swing of life at home. My yard is a disaster area, with holes from a certain basset hound who is into digging, weeds taking over the front yard, and the grass high enough in the back to require mowing. We’ve got rain in the forecast for this weekend, but we’ll see if I can sneak in some work in the garden and get things in shape for spring!

Leave a Reply

