The Saga Continues…

I’d like to say that since I was finally home (and relatively illness free) this weekend that I got a ton done around the house…but I’d be lying. After a long week at work, and all of the travel and sleeplessness, insomnia, jet lag, etc. of the last month, I was just plum exhausted. So yesterday was officially a lazy day – I decided that if I woke up and the weather was bad, I’d just be couchbound – and when I woke up, it was 45 and rainy.

Perfect inside weather!

Now, there is plenty I could do inside, and with all the spring-like weather lately, I should be working on some spring cleaning. But instead, I watched my DVR’d shows, took a nice long nap, and worked on some crochet projects. Today was more of the same, although I did get motivated enough to vacuum the whole house, and steam clean the first floor, as well as take all the garbage/recycling outside.

What a difference a little cleaning can make!

I also dropped a load of laundry off at my parents’ because…you guessed it…the washing machine is still not working.

On Friday, the second repair guy arrived (this is the same as the guy who realized they’d ordered the wrong timer), and I was ready to do battle. There was NO way I was paying more money. I’m still pretty fired up about it, because truth be told, if the first guy had said that he wasn’t sure that the timer was the right part, and we’d need to play around, I might have said forget it, and just put the money towards a new washing machine.

But anyway, I stood in the doorway of the bathroom the entire time the guy was here on Friday, as he tested a few things, called in to the engineers, and still couldn’t figure it out. He ordered two more parts (at no cost to me, he said, without me putting up a fuss), and said if I absolutely needed to use the washer, I could. I just have to keep an eye on it.

But while I love cleaning up water all over the floor, and keeping my fingers crossed that it’s not continuing to do damage to the floor, I decided that since I can go over to my parents’ to do laundry, that would be the plan. I’m not in dire need for clean clothes yet – I still have a lot – it’s just that I like to keep on top of the laundry. And of course, when I went to grab the pup yesterday for his walk, he pulled his new trick – he gets so excited about going for a walk (despite my remaining very calm about it all and forcing him to sit before I put the leash on) that he doesn’t know what to do with himself. He runs around, seemingly forgetting that the longer he races around, the longer it is before he’s able to go out on said walk.

So lately, he’s been jumping up on the couch and laying down, as if to show me what a good boy he’s being (he did the same thing when I would tell him he’s going in the crate when he was being naughty as a little(er) guy). But he’s got this nervous habit – if he’s lying down, and you go to touch him (pet him, put the leash on, whatever), he pees.

Unless he’s just been outside and fully emptied his bladder, which rarely happens.

It’s not technically an accident, because it’s just an excited/nervous thing he does. But it’s really annoying. And he did it yesterday on the couch’s slip cover. So that’s one thing that NEEDED to be washed, and that was the first load to go in at my parents’. Oh Oliver.

It’s also the reason I need to borrow their carpet steam cleaner again. But that’s a story for another time.

Although next weekend is Easter weekend, and I’m going to be away on Friday night (because a friend from high school is making her Broadway debut in Leap of Faith, how cool!), I’m hoping to be well-rested enough to get some outdoor projects started…i.e. a yard cleanup, thanks also to a little munchkin who loves to dig! And keep your fingers crossed that over the next few days, my washing machine will ACTUALLY get fixed!

Leave a Reply

