Eep, A Hiatus!

I took an unintended hiatus from non-work-related blogging! But I’m back. And while I wasn’t blogging, I also wasn’t sitting on my couch – yay! I am still not running…I just can’t seem to find the motivation for it right now, and with the humidity being so ridiculous lately, I’m thinking it’s going to be more of a fall start for me.  But I have been kicking my butt in other ways.

With the exception of the last week, I’ve been walking the pup three miles a day religiously – he needs it and loves it, so it’s not like he lets me forget! This week was different because he had sprained his leg, so the vet put the kibosh on walking, and it was SO hot that it would have been cruel to walk the little guy. I did take him on a couple of short walks once he was feeling better, and we actually got a full 1.6 miles in today! We’ve also been taking an obedience class on Monday nights for the past five weeks, which totally exhausts him – lots of hard work!

In addition, I started the thirty day shred..again, I know, but this time, I’ve been sticking with it faithfully. I missed a couple of days – one towards the end of level 1 because I was so sore, I knew my body needed the day, and then in between levels one and two because my sister got married, I spent three hours dancing at her wedding, and then felt like I’d been run over the following day.

Tonight, I finished day 7 of level 2, and level 2 is still so killer. But although the scale isn’t moving much, I can see a difference in myself, so I know that I’m trading some fat for muscle. I’m down a full 18 pounds now, and I’m still working with Weight Watchers to hopefully get down to my happy weight, but I’m being more mindful of being healthier and fit than being skinny. I feel pretty awesome that I can do standing push-ups now!

Along with that, I’ve been doing the bike 2-3 times a week, about 40 minutes at a time. I may have mentioned before that my legs get very antsy, and while the Shred helps with that a bit, the bike makes a huge difference in relaxing me. When I was visiting my parents’ for my sister’s wedding weekend, I also used my mom’s elliptical (in a room with no air conditioning, by the by), and it was amazing – I felt really great (and terrible at the same time) when I was done. I’ve been feeling that way a lot lately – it’s amazing how much working out helps my mood.

Tonight, I took a photo of my stomach, to compare to a photo I’d taken exactly a month ago. And while my weight has only changed about a pound or two since then, you can really see the difference!

June 2, 2012

July 2, 2012

It absolutely stresses me out to post pictures of my stomach here, but I am also pretty proud of the work I’ve been doing. And along with my mood, there have been some other benefits – the occurrences of migraines are WAAAY down, and I’m sleeping much better. I’m also craving more good food, as opposed to all the sugar I was eating (don’t get me wrong, I’m still eating it, but I’m doing far more cooking at home and eating a lot more fruit!). And it’s cliche, but I do have more energy. Who knew?

I hate to sound like a commercial for working out – it’s certainly not all puppies and kittens, but right now I’m on an endorphin high from just finishing the Shred. I have my ups and downs, but as I incorporate new workouts and push myself, I see the changes, and it keeps me motivated. Let’s hope that when it starts to cool down, I can find my running motivation again and get back out there!

Leave a Reply

